Highlights of the first Applied Physics Alumni Association's meeting at their office on 26th April 2023:

- 1. Attendee list is attached.
- 2. Applied Physics Alumni Association (APAA) got a permanent office place at the department roof top. It is an air-conditioned room with adequate space and seating capacity of 25 to 30 persons.
- All the attendee, on behalf of the association thanked Kaushik Das Sharma, Rajarshi Gupta, Jiten Bera, Nirmal Murmu and other faculties of the department who pursued with university for allocating the room to APAA.
- 4. RNC briefed about the ongoing activities of APAA and expressed the need for society registration of APAA. He also informed that a draft MOA is already prepared but formal society registration can be pursued after observing sustained effort of APAA for some period. All attendee agreed.
- 5. Jiten Bera informed that a new bank account is already opened for centenary celebration and the existing bank account of reunion committee can be used by APAA. Thus, opening of a new bank account for APAA is not foreseen.
- 6. Anup Mandal informed that 100 plus alumni was present in this year reunion. This is a good sign compared to last few years reunions where the alumni presence was on an average of 60 plus. Everybody expects that next year being department centenary, the alumni presence in the reunion should cross 350.
- Everybody felt that one physical meeting per month in the office room should be organized with participation of more alumni. RNC proposed to decide a fixed day and time of every month for such meeting.
- 8. RNC and the senior alumni shared many interesting and memorable moments during their student life in the department.
- 9. Kaushik Das Sharma and Siddhartha Pal asked few questions to RNC for sharing his experience of long 40 years (1965 to 2004) association with the department. RNC narrated his journey in the department in a very interesting and enjoyable manner.
- 10. At the end, Srimanti Roy Chowdhury who came all the way from Bangladesh expressed her gratitude and affection for the department. She also nicely shared her first day experience in the department and the support she received from the then faculties.
- 11. The entire session was video graphed keeping the idea of publishing the same in the 'Newsletter' as well as in 'Youtube'.

List of attendees:

- 1. Rabindranath Chakraborty (1965).
- 2. Anup Kumar Mandal (1972).
- 3. Siddhartha Pal (1985).
- 4. Siddhartha Sen Mazumdar (1976).
- 5. Anu Bhattacharya (1970).
- 6. Jaya Basu (1974).
- 7. Prabir Kumar Bhattacharya (1970).
- 8. Sudip Saha (1971).
- 9. Debiprasad Ghosh (1974).
- 10. Sujit Deb (1970).
- 11. Archarna Deb (1970).
- 12. Samarjit Sengupta (1973).
- 13. Kaushik Das Sharma (1998).
- 14. Rajarshi Gupta (1996).
- 15. Jitendra Nath Bera (1990).
- 16. Srimanti Roychowdhury (2008).
- 17. Ranjan Ghosh (1970).
- 18. Nirmal Murmu (Faculty).